A very Internet New Year 2016

Meanwhile it is an established tradition: over thirty local and international internet organisations invite you to a joint Internet New Year's event which will be held on in Amsterdam. From registry to research network, from identity and trust management to accessibility - and all the way back to hacking: you'll find plenty of interesting people to talk to.

Make sure you don't miss out, register and put it in your calendar [much thanks to RIPE NCC for handling the registration]. You can also take a peek at the attendee list to see who else is joining.

The main space (the Atrium) is reserved for drinks, food and conversation only. In the Trouwzaal we have a sparkling programme with speakers for you, presented by Frank Kresin:


19.00-19.10: HTML5 is the new Flash (dr. Steven Pemberton)
19.10-19.20: Internet Storage Sync (Michiel de Jong)
19.20-19.30: CLEAN NL (Michiel Steltman)
19.30-19.40: Software Greenhouse (Guido Aben)
19.40-19.50: ANANSI/Spamhattan (Rogier Spoor)
19.50-20.00: Global Network Architecture Working Group (Jim Williams)
20.00-20.45: Chairperson debate led by Olaf Kolkman
  • Steve Cotter (CEO GEANT)
  • Mieke van Heesewijk (chair Netwerk Democratie)
  • Hans Petter Holen (chair RIPE)
  • Erwin Bleumink (chair DINL)
  • Alexander Blom (chair Internet Society Nederland)
20.45-21.00: ISOC.nl Internet Innovation Award
21.00-21.10: Open sourcing RIPE Atlas (Vesna Manojlovic)
21.10-21.20: Project Ledenadministratie.nl (Reinder Rustema)
21.25-21.35: Enriching TV viewing (prof. Lynda Hardman)
21.35-21.45: Internet.nl (Marco Hogewoning)
21.45-22.00: Bits of Freedom Quiz

register attendee list


The event will be held in Amsterdam at Het Sieraad, Postjesweg 1, 1057 DT Amsterdam. (how to get there). Doors open at 18h, and there will be a buffet available until 19:00h (both non-vegetarian and vegetarian options available). We stay open until 22.00h, and perhaps a bit longer.

Why you should join

The Internet New Years Event is great for catching up with old friends and acquaintances, as well as meeting new people working in various areas of the internet.

Besides a rich variety of lighting talks you are likely to enjoy the traditional chairpersons debate, led by Olaf Kolkman (Chief Internet Technology officer Internet Society), featuring Hans Petter Holen (chair RIPE), Mieke van Heesewijk (chair Netwerk Democratie), Erwin Bleumink (chair DINL) and Alexander Blom (ISOC.nl). Also you can have a look at what 2015 yielded with innovations when the ISOC.nl Internet Innovatie Award 2016 will be officially awarded to an important new internet initiative.

The Internet New Year's event is the perfect way to kick off a great 2016.

More information

Will of course appear on this page. If you have any questions, contact Michiel Leenaars or Alexandra Vos, +31 20 535 4363.

ISOC.nl Innovation Award

These organisations participate:
Deze organisaties nemen deel:

  • ISOC
  • Vereniging Open Domein
  • W3C Benelux
  • Stichting NLnet
  • AMS-ix
  • LPI
  • netwerk democratie
  • EGI
  • NLnet Labs
  • SIDN
  • Vrijschrift
  • Stichting IFCAT
  • Drempelvrij.nl
  • Bits of Freedom
  • Fronteers
  • Gridforum.nl
  • OpenDoc Society
  • Accessibility.nl
  • Surfnet BV
  • ETH-0
  • IdentityNext
  • Free Knowledge Institute
  • IPv6 Task Force Nederland
  • ECP
  • Vereniging van Registrars
  • SIDN Fonds
  • Internet Protection Lab
  • Stichting IPv6
  • Stichting Digitale Infrastructuur Nederland
  • Stichting Dutch Data Centers
  • Stichting Waag Society
  • HoneyNed


Look the Postjesweg up on Open Streetmap.


From the Amsterdam Ring A10 junction S106 direction Surinameplein. At Surinameplein keep left to Hoofdweg. Turn right at the traffic lights on the Hoofdweg to Postjesweg.
Drive up to the bridge, at you right hand you will find Het Sieraad.


If you have a boat, Het Sieraad can be reached via the water.

Parking garages

For information parking in Amsterdam: www.parkerenindestad.nl.

Public transit

Take Tram 7 or 17.
Get off at Postjesweg.
For more info: www.9292ov.nl